Two examples of Flabbits (flying rabbits) are exhibited at Windsor’s Information Centre, in the entrance to the Museum. The Museum has well-presented displays which include the history of flooding of the area. When viewing the measure of where the worst flood rose to, it is difficult to imagine how the water could rise so high.
We followed information from the Information Centre to do a couple of heritage walks around Windsor, the third settlement of the Colony in 1794, then known as Green Hills, and proclaimed the town of Windsor in 1810 by Governor Lachlan Macquarie. There are a great many preserved buildings that makes Windsor such a picturesque town.
What used to be the centre of the town, is Thompson Square. It is the oldest public square in Australia, dating back to 1795 and surrounded by colonial Georgian buildings. One of them, the Macquarie Arms Hotel – the oldest pub (on the mainland) built in 1815 – has claims to ghosts there and “rum smugglers’ tunnels” to the river although the latter appears to be sewerage and drainage constructions made under Thompson Square.
This is our third Sunday visit to Windsor and it is obviously a popular meeting place. Restaurants and cafés spill over to the outdoors with families enjoying brunch. Historic and showy vehicles and motorbikes drive through the town and find parking in the street. Every Sunday is Market Day, held along the two-block mall in George Street. This day was the Annual Dog Day and there were plenty of dogs and their owners checking out all the ‘doggie’ stands.
The Hawkesbury River was important to the young colony, used for transporting produce from the farms to Sydney. Today, it is used for recreation. The Hawkesbury Paddlewheeler passed by as we spent some time at Governor Phillip Park, one of several lovely picnic areas in Windsor.
Spoilt for choice of eating places, we enjoyed lunch at “Crepe Escape” and some cakes at Outback Bakery, near “The Waterwheel”. Recommend both!